The Liebster Award

The great thing about living is that there is too much to “blog” about to ever have the chance to sit down and actually blog.  My friend Lu over at Point of Focus nominated me for a Liebster Award as a way to get us both back into the blogging game, and hopefully to get others to do the same.  Read on to learn about this “award” and check out what we’ve been up to.

The Liebster Award is an award distributed by bloggers for blogs with under 200 followers.  Supposedly, it started in Germany, as a way for readers and bloggers to discover new blogs to follow.  It connects the blogging community and helps web surfers expand their horizons!

liebster-award-e1355858473421

The Rules:
1. Choose 11 other up-and-coming bloggers and link to them in your Liebster post.
2. Answer the 11 questions the previous blogger set for you, then create 11 different ones for the bloggers you will choose.
3. Let those bloggers know you nominated them.
4. No tag backs. No mulligans. No puppy guarding. Okay, just don’t tag the person who nominated you.
5. Display the Liebster logo.

So, Lu sent me the following questions that I’m excited to answer!  Then, I’ve created questions of my own that I want my “nominees” to answer on their blogs.  Here goes!

1. If you could go back and do college over again, what would you major in?

The answer to this question will probably change over time, but at the moment I would say that I would major in global studies or international relations or something of that nature.  I am not terribly interested in politics.  Instead, I am interested in different cultures that live in the same community.  For me, living around others from different parts of the world has made me evaluate and reevaluate nearly everything about myself and my own culture, from my quirky Minnesotan accent to my bathroom ritual.  If we could understand how different people can cohabit in peaceful and productive ways, we would be on our way to amazing things.  Like Tex-Mex.

2.  Who is your favorite TV character, and why?

Lieutenant Kara Thrace (“Starbuck”) from Battlestar Galactica, played by Katee Sackhoff.  She toggles between dangerous spontaneity and calculated predetermination, though always chooses the option that is the most ill-suited for the situation.  In the end, she usually saves the day, whether or not anybody is happy about it.  I do not identify with her character in any way, and that’s probably why she’s my favorite.  Maybe Starbuck could teach me to be more extemporaneous.

kara-thrace

Fun fact: the original Starbuck from the 1978 series was male, played by Dirk Benedict.

3.  You get one question to ask to one famous person who is no longer living. Who is the person, and what is the question?

I want to ask Charles Schulz why Snoopy doesn’t look like a real-life beagle.

CharlesSchulz

4.  What accessory can you “not live without?”

I have two watches that I rotate through.  One of them is a silver metal that I received from my grandfather when he emptied a few drawers after moving to a new elder care home.  The other is a leather-banded Citizen watch that was a gift from my family on my graduation from college.

I should add that I always wear analog watches.  I like seeing the pie graph of time passing by. Mmm, pie.

5.  Paper or plastic?

The nice thing about living in Earth-friendly Minneapolis is that I know where I can recycle both forms of bag.  That being said, I always ask for paper.  Not only is it easier to recycle, but it is perfect to use as a cooling pad for hot, fresh cookies that came out of the oven.  Can you do that with a plastic bag?  No.  Unless you want a plastic glaze on the bottom.

6.  Describe a favorite memory you have with a friend.

The two of us were high school students (or maybe young college students, I don’t remember).  We were laying on the floor of her parents’ basement, wondering what our parents’ lives had been like when they were our age, playing their records on her dad’s record player.  The top choice of the night was Queen‘s “Bohemian Rhapsody.”  The bass is a lot more fuerte when your head’s on the floor.

7.  What is your favorite beverage?

Water.

(You thought I was going to say coffee, didn’t you?)

Even though it is coffee that gets the day started, it is water that keeps the day going.  When I have not had enough water, I lack the mental and physical energy to do anything, sometimes even have an intelligent conversation.  My mind will tell me I’m thirsty before my mouth does by being distracted and unfocused.  On top of that, getting up from my desk to refill my water bottle provides me with a nice movement break after a lot of work.  “When the butt goes numb, the mind goes dumb.”

8.  What smell reminds you of home?

Flavored coffee.

Wild rice soup.

Homemade fudge.

Maple syrup.

Mothballs.

9.  Coffee or tea? Why? (I really need to know. I can’t decide.)

Coffee.  And I will tell you why.  But, before I do, I will say that any tea drinker will probably have the same or similar reasons for drinking tea, so whatever you take away from my opinions is totally up to you.

1) It smells so, so good.

2) It wakes you up.

3) It’s a great socializing drink.

4) It tastes like it smells.  (Believe me on this one, haters.)

5) Making it taste good is an art.  I am still a young painter’s apprentice.

6) I would not have a good day without it.  That’s probably a negative reason, but it’s still a reason.

10.  What is your favorite word?

Blockhead.

lucy-blockhead

And now, the Liebster Award Nominees from Minus the Linus

Rumor has it that the original Liebster Award only requires 3-6 bloggers to be nominated, so that’s what I’m going to do.

1) BAMFT

2) So it goes.

3) Listen Learn and Do

4) Los Viajes de la Hojita

Your questions are:

1) What is a hobby that you wish you had, but currently do not?

2) Where is a place that you would like to travel?

3) What other language would you like to speak?

4) What decade do you wish you were born in?

5) If you could be any animal, what would it be?

6) What are you most afraid of?

7) Imagine yourself as part of a film (production, acting, etc.). Which role or job would you have?

8) What type of food would you never eat?

9) Who do you look up to most, either dead or alive?

10) What is your favorite season?

11) What is your favorite seasoning?

Any thoughts?

